Skip to content Skip to footer

When I discovered sculpture I found a kind of force that pushed me to define a form that approaches a "mother cabin", both architecture and character. I don't do abstract sculpture. I have always looked for the human in sculpture

Parvine Curie

Parvine Curie was born in Nancy in 1936, of Franco-Iranian origin. After obtaining her baccalaureate she began linguistic studies and left to discover England, Austria, Spain and Italy. In 1957, she discovered Catalan art and decided to settle in Barcelona where her first sculptures were born. She lives with the Catalan sculptor Marcel Marti with whom she had a son, David Marti in 1959. In 1960, she presented her first solo exhibition at the French Institute of Barcelona. In 1965 her work was stylized and constructed, notably through the practice of iron, bronze, cut aluminum and embossed metal in the following year. The “Gales” Fashion store in Barcelona asks her to decorate their windows for Christmas: Fantastic birds, Angels-sirens.

Mère Poblet, ParvineCurie

In May 1968 she made her first Mère (Mother), which she presented at Suzanne de Cönninck’s at the Center for the Integration of the Arts. She left Spain in 1969 to settle in Paris. In 1970, Parvine Curie occupied a studio in the Cité internationale des arts in Paris. At the Salon de la Jeune Sculpture in the Luxembourg Gardens, she presents Première Mère, an assembly of glued planks painted in black and enhanced with brass. This work was noticed by the sculptor François Stahly, who recognized in a great affinity with his work at the time. Stahly and his wife Claude invite her to work with them at the collective workshop in Crestet, in the Vaucluse and then in Meudon. This is where Parvine Curie learns the basics of the trade, wood and stone carving. Stahly, for his part, recognizes Parvine’s structuring influence on his work.

In 1973, after the death of Claude Stahly, Parvine Curie moved for six months with François Stahly at Albany in the United States. The landscapes of the rocky mountains and the discovery of pre-Columbian civilizations strongly influence her work. She travels to Mexico, Guatemala, Morocco, India, Egypt, Yugoslavia and Greece.

After her divorce with Marcel Marti, she married Stahly and back in France, she received her first public commissions (1st placed at the Pierre-Bégon college in Blois. The work, Mère Anatolica, placed in the courtyard of the Pierre-de-Coubertin, in Chevreuse where Pierre Huyghe studied in 1975. This hieratic sculpture will partly be at the origin of the sculptor’s career). In 1976 the Monnaie de Paris published small reliefs, sculptures and her jewelry, in limited editions.

Mère-Anatolica, Retrospective dedicated to Pierre Huyghe at the Center Pompidou, Paris.

In 1979, she received the Bourdelle Prize (jury made up of the sculptors Penalba, Waldberg, Hajdu, Etienne-Martin and Couturier) and, in 1980, a two-meter version of the Mother-Cathedral work, in exotic wood, was purchased by the city of Paris for the inauguration of the Museum of Contemporary Outdoor Sculpture, quai Saint-Bernard.

In 1984 she presented a retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art in Troyes and the city of Meudon commissioned a Monument to the victims of Nazi barbarism, made in Carrara marble. In 1988, the Élysée bought her the sculpture Mère-Couloirs in aluminum, a presidential gift to german chancellor Helmut Kohl and two years later a non-commercial edition of twenty-five small pyramids, which President Mitterand would offer to heads of state during the Franco-African summit in La Baule. She presents a retrospective of her works at the Jean Arp Foundation (Clamart, Hauts-de-Seine), at the Jacques-Prévert Center, (Aulnay-sous-Bois, Seine-Saint-Denis) in 1994, at the Orangerie of the castle of Meudon (Hauts-de-Seine) the following year and the Gothic monastery of Pebralbes and the Maeght gallery in Barcelona in 1999.

Exhibition at the Meudon Art Center

In 2000 she exhibited her works alongside of François Stahly at the French Institute in Barcelona (Spain). In 2003 she exhibited at the Art Center of Meudon and devoted her time to François Stahly whose health deteriorates who died in 2006. The following year it was her son, David Marti, painter and poet who extinguished in turn. She organized a Retrospective for him presented at the Cadaqués museum in 2009.

In 2012 she presented a new retrospective at the Collegiate Church of St Martin in Angers with musical interventions as well as poetic itineraries on texts and poems by David Marti. The following year in 2013, she was decorated Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres (elevated to the rank of Officer in 2021) and participated in the exhibition “Les Femmes Sculpteurs (Women Sculptors)” at the Villa Datris (Isle-sur-Sorgue). In 2015, she participated in the exhibition “Dessine-moi une collection” at the Museum of Modern Art in Troyes and created the Parvine Curie – David Marti donation fund.

"Mère-Matmata 1975-1977", Exhibition "They make abstraction" at the Center Georges Pompidou in 2021.

In 2017 she published a monograph on the occasion of her retrospective “Parvine Curie, Sculptures & Tangkas” presented at the CAMPREDON ART Center in L’Isle ‑ sur ‑ Sorgue (E. Maison de l’Europe) and the following year she participates in the exhibition Les Pionnières – In the workshops of women artists of the 20th century at the Galerie Pierre-Alain Challier and publishes a Monograph at Somogy Editions d’Art with the Galerie Martel Greiner. In 2021, she is also in the spotlight at the Center Georges Pompidou (Paris) in the exhibition They make abstraction.

THE WORKS

This artist offers you

discover

We wrote about

L’enfant abrité de Parvine Curie : Coming soon

Parvine Curie's works have a double essence, that of an intimate monumentality that imposes itself through its forms, as much as it attracts and reassures us. While her practice of…

Parvine Curie named an Officier de l’ordre des Arts et Lettres

It is in this beautiful setting of the Salle des Gardes of the Hôtel Sully (Paris) that the sculptor Parvine Curie received from the hands of Philippe Bélaval, President of…

Celebrate Mother’s Day with Parvine Curie’s artwork

A mother's tenderness for her child begins the moment the child is born. But as the child grows, the mother attaches herself to him by all the ties which can…

Loft Gallery Paris

France —
4 RUE DES BEAUX-ARTS
75006 PARIS

Follow us

Newsletter

Galerie Loft © 2022. All Rights Reserved. Legal notices / General sales conditions

Skip to content Skip to footer

Quand j’ai découvert la sculpture j’ai trouvé une sorte de force qui m’a poussé à définir une forme qui s’approche d’un « habitacle-mère», à la fois architecture et personnage. Je ne fais pas de sculpture abstraite. J’ai toujours cherché l’humain dans la sculpture

Parvine Curie

D’origine franco-iranienne, Parvine Curie naît à Nancy en 1936. Après l’obtention de son baccalauréat elle entreprend des études linguistiques et part découvrir l’Angleterre, l’Autriche, l’Espagne et l’Italie. En 1957, elle découvre l’art catalan et décide de s’installer à Barcelone où ses premières sculptures voient le jour. Elle vit avec le sculpteur catalan Marcel Marti avec qui elle a 1959 un fils, David Marti en 1959. En 1960, elle présente sa première exposition personnelle à l’Institut français de Barcelone. En 1965 son travail se stylise et se construit, notamment grâce à la pratique du fer, du bronze, de l’aluminium découpé et l’année suivante du métal repoussé. La boutique de Mode «Gales» à Barcelone lui commande la décoration de ses vitrines pour Noël : Oiseaux fantastiques, Anges-sirènes.

Mère Poblet, ParvineCurie

En mai 1968 elle réalise ses premières Mères qu’elle présente chez Suzanne de Cönninck au Centre d’Intégration des Arts. Elle quitte l’Espagne en 1969 pour s’installer à Paris. En 1970, Parvine Curie occupe un atelier dans la Cité internationale des arts à Paris. Elle présente au salon de la jeune sculpture dans le jardin du Luxembourg Première mère, un assemblage de planches collées, peintes en noir et rehaussées de laiton. Cette œuvre est remarquée par le sculpteur François Stahly qui y reconnaît une grande affinité avec son travail de l’époque. Stahly et sa femme Claude l’invitent à travailler avec eux à l’atelier collectif du Crestet, dans le Vaucluse puis à Meudon. C’est là que Parvine Curie apprend les bases du métier, la taille du bois et de la pierre. Stahly de son côté reconnaît l’influence structurante de Parvine sur son œuvre.

En 1973, après le décès de Claude Stahly, Parvine Curie s’installe pour six mois avec François Stahly à Albany aux États-Unis. Les paysages des montagnes Rocheuses et la découverte des civilisations précolombiennes influencent alors fortement son œuvre. Elle voyage au Mexique, au Guatemala, au Maroc, en Inde, Égypte, Yougoslavie et en Grèce.

Après son divorce avec Marcel Marti, elle épouse Stahly et de retour en France, elle reçoit ses premières commandes publiques (1ere placée au collège Pierre-Bégon à Blois. Suit une œuvre, Mère Anatolica, placée dans la cour du collège Pierre-de-Coubertin, à Chevreuse où étudiera Pierre Huyghe en 1975. Cette sculpture hiératique sera en partie à l’origine de la carrière du sculpteur). En 1976 la Monnaie de Paris édite de petits reliefs, des sculptures et plus tard ses bijoux, en tirages numérotés limités.

Mère-Anatolica, Rétrospective consacrée à Pierre Huyghe au Centre Pompidou, Paris.

En 1979, elle reçoit le prix Bourdelle (Jury composé des sculpteurs Penalba, Waldberg, Hajdu, Etienne-Martin et Couturier) et, en 1980, une version de deux mètres de l’oeuvre Mère-Cathédrale, en bois exotique, est achetée par la ville de Paris pour l’inauguration du musée de la Sculpture Contemporaine en Plein Air, quai Saint-Bernard.

En 1984 elle présente une rétrospective au musée d’Art Moderne de Troyes et la ville de Meudon lui commande un Monument aux victimes de la barbarie Nazie, réalisé en marbre de Carrare. En 1988 L’Élysée lui achète la sculpture Mère-Couloirs en aluminium, cadeau présidentiel au chancelier allemand Helmut Kohl et deux ans plus tard une édition hors commerce de vingt-cinq petites pyramides, que le président Mitterand offrira aux chefs d’état lors du sommet Franco-Africain à La Baule. Elle présente une rétrospective de ses œuvres à la Fondation Jean Arp (Clamart, Hauts-de-Seine), au Centre Jacques-Prévert, (Aulnay-sous-Bois, Seine-Saint-Denis) en 1994, à l’Orangerie du château de Meudon (Hauts-de-Seine) l’année suivante et au monastère gothique de Pebralbes et à la galerie Maeght à Barcelone en 1999.

Exposition au Centre d'Art de Meudon

En 2000 elle expose ses œuvres aux côtés de celle de François Stahly à l’Institut français de Barcelone (Espagne). En 2003 elle expose au Centre d’art et de culture de Meudon et consacre son temps à François Stahly dont la santé se détériore qui décède en 2006. L’année suivante c’est son fils, David Marti, peintre et poète qui s’éteint à son tour. Elle lui organise une Rétrospective présentée au musée de Cadaqués en 2009.

En 2012 elle présente une nouvelle rétrospective à la Collégiale St Martin de Angers avec interventions musicales ainsi que des itinéraires poétiques sur des textes et poèmes de David Marti.
L’année suivante 2013 elle est décorée Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres (élevée au rang d’Officier en 2021) et participe à l’exposition « Les Femmes Sculpteurs » à la Villa Datris (Isle‑sur‑Sorgue).
En 2015 elle participe à l’exposition « Dessine-moi une collection » au Musée d’Art Moderne de Troyes et créée le Fonds de dotation Parvine Curie – David Marti.

Sculpture "Mère-Matmata 1975-1977", Exposition "Elles font l'abstraction" au Centre Georges Pompidou en 2021.

En 2017 elle publie une monographie à l’occasion de sa rétrospective « Parvine Curie, Sculptures & Tangkas » présentée au Centre d’ART CAMPREDON À L’Isle‑sur‑Sorgue (E. Maison de l’Europe) et l’année suivante elle participe à l’exposition Les Pionnières – Dans les ateliers de femmes artistes du XXème siècle à la Galerie Pierre-Alain Challier et publie une Monographie chez Somogy Editions d’Art avec la Galerie Martel Greiner. En 2021 elle est également à l’honneur au Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris) dans l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction.

oeuvres

Cet artiste vous propose

découvrir

On a écrit

Célébrez la fête des mères avec l’oeuvre de Parvine Curie

La tendresse d'une mère pour son enfant commence à l'instant même où son enfant voit le jour. Mais à mesure que l'enfant grandit, la mère s'attache à lui par tous…

Parvine Curie nommée Officier de l’ordre des Arts et Lettres

C’est dans ce bel écrin de la Salle des Gardes de l’Hôtel Sully (Paris) que la sculptrice Parvine Curie a reçu des mains de Philippe Bélaval, Président du Centre des…

Projet en cours : L’enfant abrité de Parvine Curie

Les œuvres de Parvine Curie possèdent une double essence, celle d’une monumentalité intime qui s’impose par ses formes, autant qu’elle nous attire et nous rassure. Si sa pratique de la…

Galerie Loft Paris

France —
3 BIS & 4 RUE DES BEAUX-ARTS
75006 PARIS

Suivez-nous

Newsletter